• Be social

Council Meetings


(Please scroll down or click here to see a dates of all council and committee meetings for 2023/2024)

The Council meets every quarter and agrees the reports and recommendations from its various committees, of which there are currently five standing committees.

All planning and primary meetings will commence at 6pm, where no other meeting is scheduled. Where another meeting is scheduled the meeting will commence at 7pm.

The Annual Meeting and Annual Parish Meeting (APM) will commence at 7pm.

The five standing committees are as follows:

  • Cultural Services & Leisure (Councillors Seiler (Chair), Coley (Vice-Chair), Chin-Quee, Edwards, D V Evans, G F Evans, Spargo and Young)
  • Planning & Licensing (Councillors Eva (Chair), Clegg (Vice-Chair), G F Evans, Jewell, Robinson, Ross, Rowe and Spargo)
  • Finance & General Purposes (Councillors Robinson (Chair), Clegg (Vice-Chair), Coley, Eva, D V Evans, Jewell, Kirkham and Rowe)
  • Staffing (not open to the public) (Councillors Coley (Chair), Kirkham (Vice-Chair), Edwards, Eva, G F Evans, Robinson)
  • Grounds, Facilities & Environmental Action (Councillors Clegg (Chair), Kirkham (Vice-Chair), Edwards, D V Evans, Rowe, Saunby, Spargo and Young)


For procedures on public speaking at Council meetings and for further details of how to register to speak please  Click here (the pdf will open in a new browser window) or see FAQ's below for further information. 

Can a Member of the Public ask a question during an ordinary Council meeting?

  • Members of the public may ask questions at an ordinary meeting of the Council. 

Number of Questions

  • At any one meeting no person may submit more than one question and no more than one additional question.

Notice of Questions

  • A question will only be asked if notice has been given by delivering it in writing or by electonic mail to the Town Clerk, no later than 48hours before the day of the meeting. Each question must be directed to Member(s) (Councillor(s)) and give the names and addresses of the questioner.

Order of Questions

  • Questions will be asked in the order notice of them was recieved, except that the Town Mayor may group together similar questions.

Scope of Questions

The Town Clerk may reject a question if it:

  • Is not about a matter for which the Council has responsbility or which affects the Town
  • Is defamatory, frivolous or offensive
  • Is substantially the same as a question which has been put a meeting of the Council in the past six months; or
  • Requires the disclosure of confidential or exempt information

Asking the questions at the meeting

  • The Town Mayor will invite the questioner to put the question to the Member(s) named in the notice. If a questioner who has submitted a written question is unable to be present, they may ask the Town Mayor or Town Clerk to put the question on their behalf. A written reply will be given to the questioner within a reasonable period following the meeting.

Supplemental question

  • A questioner who has put a question in person may also put one supplementary question without notice. A supplementary question may arise directly out of the original question or the reply. The Town Mayor may reject a supplementary question on any of the grounds in Procedure Rule 'scope of questions' above.

Written answers

  • Any question which cannot be dealt with during public question time, either because of lack of time or because of the non-attendance of the Member to whom it was to be put, will be dealt with by a written answer.

Reference of question to a Committee

  • Unless the Town Mayor decideds otherwise, no discussion will be take place on any question, but any Member may move that a matter raised by a question be referred to the appropriate Committee or Sub-Committee. Once seconded, such a motion will be vetoed on without discussion.


MAY 2023

22nd May - Annual Council & Mayor Making (7pm) (Princess Pavilion)

JUNE 2023

5th June -   Planning & Licensing Committee (6pm) (Atherton Suite)

5th June -   Finance & General Purposes Committee  (7pm) (Atherton Suite)

19th June - Staffing Committee (6pm) (Atherton Suite)

19th June - Council (7pm) (Atherton Suite)

26th June - Planning & Licensing Committee (6pm) (Atherton Suite)

JULY 2023

3rd July  -  Cultural Services & Leisure Committee (6pm) (Atherton Suite)

10th July - Grounds, Facilities & Environmental Action Committee (6pm) (Atherton Suite)

17th July - Planning & Licensing Committee (6pm) (Atherton Suite)

24th July - Finance & General Purposes Committee (6pm) (Atherton Suite) 


14th August - Planning & Licensing Committee (6pm) (Atherton Suite)


4th September   -   Planning & Licensing Committee (6pm) (Atherton Suite)

11th September -   Cultural Services & Leisure Committee (6pm) (Atherton Suite)                     

18th September -   Grounds Facilities & Environmental Action Committee (6pm) (Council Chamber)

18th September -   Council (7pm) (Council Chamber)

25th September -   Planning & Licensing Committee (Atherton Suite)

25th September -   Finance & General Purposes Committee (7pm) (Atherton Suite)


2nd October -  Staffing Committee (6pm) (Atherton Suite)

16th October - Planning & LIcensing Committee (6pm) (Atherton Suite)

30th October - Finance & General Purposes Committee (6pm) (Atherton Suite)


6th November   - Planning & LIcensing Committee (6pm) (Atherton Suite)

13th November - Grounds Facilities & Envionmental Action Committee (6pm) (Atherton Suite)

27th November - Planning & Licensing Committee (6pm) (Atherton Suite)

27th November - Finance & General Purposes Committee (7pm) (Atherton Suite)


4th December  -  Staffing Committee (6pm)

4th December -   Cultural Services & Leisure Committee (7pm)

11th December - Council (7pm)(Council Chamber)

18th December - Planning & Licensing Committee (6pm)(Atherton Suite)


8th January  -   Planning & Licensing Committe (6pm) (Atherton Suite)

15th January -  Finance & General Purposes Committee (6pm) (Atherton Suite)

15th January -  Special Council Meeting (Atherton Suite)

22nd January - Cultural Services & Leisure Committee (6pm) (Atherton Suite)

29th January -  Planning & Licensing Committee (6pm) (Atherton Suite)


5th February   - Grounds Facilities & Environmental Action Committee (6pm) (Atherton Suitte)

19th February - Interim Planning & Licensing Committee (6pm) (Atherton Suite)

19th February - Staffing Committee (7pm) (Atherton Suite)

26th February - Finance & General Purposes Committee (6pm) (Atherton Suite)

MARCH 2024

11th March - Planning & Licensing Committee (6pm) (Atherton Suite)

11th March - Council (7pm) (Council Chamber)

18th March - Cultural Services & Leisure (6pm) (Atherton Suite)

25th March - Annual Parish Meeting (7pm) (Atherton Suite)

APRIL 2024

8th April  -   Planning & Licensing Committee (6pm) (Atherton Suite)

8th April   -  Finance & General Purposes Committee (7pm) (Atherton Suite)

15th April -  Grounds Facilities & Environmental Action Committee (6pm) (Atherton Suite)

22nd April - Staffing (6pm) (Atherton Suite)

29th April - Planning & Licensing (6pm) (Atherton Suite)

MAY 2024

13th May - Annual Council & Mayor Making (7pm) (Princess Pavilion)

20th May - Planning & Licensing Committee (6pm) (Atherton Suite)

20th May - Cultural Services & Leisure Committee (7pm) (Atherton Suite)